Dog Breed List
Choosing a Breed
Where in Canada?
Go Home

CanaDogs.comCanaDogs logo
"May I always be the kind of person my dog thinks I am"

Shop

German Shepherd



For the Love of German Shepherds 2014 Deluxe Wall Calendar

 
German Shepherd 2014 Wall Calendar

 

 

 

Those who would say a dog
 has no soul, 
have never looked into the eyes of
 a German Shepherd.
- Unknown


German Shepherd puppy

 Gableridge German Shepherd puppy

German Shepherd Dog adult
Maturity Victor Ch Gableridges Aragorn Elessar TT, OFA, HIC
"Strider"

The German Shepherd's family tree goes back to the 7th century A.D. 

He was developed in Germany by crossing the best of the German farm dogs to be a superb herding dog. 

Standing up to 25 inches at the shoulder, the German Shepherd has a short, dense double coat that may be solid black, black and tan, or any shade of sable. 

Although grooming needs are minimal, the German Shepherd's coat should be brushed regularly.

After the classic Hollywood story of Rin Tin Tin hit the movie theatres, the breed's popularity soared.  A superb watch dog and guardian for the family, the German Shepherd is loyal, devoted to his family, and fearless. He is also strong, agile, and muscular. Because he bonds so closely with his family, the German Shepherd is not happy if left alone for long periods. 

Renowned for his versatility, the German Shepherd has since provided service as a herder, sentry, tracker, police dog, drug and bomb detection dog, as well as a guide dog to the blind and a search and rescue dog.

As he is highly intelligent and responsive, the German Shepherd should begin obedience training early. His owner must be strong and confident. Socialization to other pets should occur when he is a puppy. 

The German Shepherd has great stamina and, like his farm dog ancestors, he is capable of trotting all day long. He requires a fenced yard and lots of exercise including a daily walk.

 

 
Resources

Buying a Puppy
Dog Titles 

Disaster Proofing

 
Clubs and Organizations

German Shepherd Dog Club of Canada Inc.

German Shepherd Schutzhund Club of Canada

British Columbia German Shepherd Dog Club

Wild Rose German Shepherd Dog Club

Northern Lights Prairie Region GSD Club

German Shepherd Dog Club of Manitoba

German Shepherd Dog Club of London (Ontario)

Ottawa Area German Shepherd Dog Club

Nova Scotia German Shepherd Dog Club

List Me! Button

 
Maple Leaf

  CanaDogs.com Breeders

Maple Leaf

CKC German Shepherd Dog Breed Standard

 

Photos displayed above courtesy of:
Mark and Sandra Gaetz, Gableridge
Ontario 



 

 

British Columbia

Kennel/Website

Sandy Anderson
1722 252nd Street
Aldergrove, BC  V4W 2E3
1-800-249-3933
Email:
sandy@woodsideshepherds.com

Woodside


Chris Burke
3383 53rd Street South
Cranbrook, BC  V1C 7A3
(250) 426-4981
Email:
snowycreekshepherds@shaw.ca

Snowycreek Shepherds


Kimberly Dorrington
564 Holm Road
Campbell River, BC    V9W 1W4
(250) 923-4713
Email: 
vonohmkegsds@gmail.com 

Von Öhmke


Tanya Hainstock
PO Box 76
Southbank, BC  V0J 2P0
(250) 694-3766
Email:
tanya67@telus.net

Kaynineangel


Marianne McCollum
1623 Connel Road, RR#1
Creston, BC  V0B 1G3
(250) 428-2252 or (250) 428-2932
Email:
shalakausshepherds@gmail.com

Shalakaus


Amanda Jacobs
4620 Eagle Way
Tsawwassen, BC   V4M 4G4
(778) 836-4048
Email: 
german_shepherds@live.ca

German Shepherd Dog
Guardian German Shepherds


Elaine Ross
4315 Telegraph Road
Cowichan Bay, BC   V0R 1N2
(250) 743-9475
Email:
rossi@islandnet.com

Ross Perm Reg'd

 

 
Ask An Expert

 
Rescue


Crusader Resources

255150 Towers Trail
Cochrane, AB  T4C 2A2
(403) 932-6570
Email: crusaderresources@yahoo.com

German Shepherd Rescue, BC
Email:
GSDRescue@shaw.ca

German Shepherd Rescue of Toronto

West Coast German Shepherd Rescue of BC
South Langley, BC - Purebred Shepherds only
Founder:  Lisa Bogardi

DOGS ARE WELL BEHAVED BEFORE POSTED FOR ADOPTION. 

 

 

Did you know?


The German Shepherd
Rin Tin Tin was considered one of the most famous
stars in Hollywood.
At the peak of his 
movie career, he
received over 10,000 fan letters a week.

He even signed his 
contracts with a
pawprint!

Alberta 

Kennel/Website

Stuart and Sharon Birch
Site 8, Box 93, RR#2
Tofield, AB  T0B 4J0
(780) 662-4843
Email:
edalegsd@equityinternet.ca

Edale Reg'd


Sandi Evjen
RR #1
Stony Plain, AB   T7Z 1X1
(780) 963-1697
Email:  
sandi@mottopride.ca

MottoPride Shepherds


Esther Eckert
49369 Hwy 21
Leduc County, AB     T0B 3M4
(780) 941-2487
Email: 
eeckert@airsurfer.ca

Northernbear


Judith Engeroff
Box 2238
Whitecourt, AB  T7S 1W2
(780) 778-0666
Email:
judithernst@live.com

*puppies planned May 2014*

Engeroff German Shepherds


Cheryl Kjemhus
RR#2, Site 5, Box 14
Grande Prairie, AB  T8V 2Z9
(780) 402-3881
Email:
prodog@xplornet.com

Vigospride Reg'd


Mary Ann Marcellus
Box 8, Site 6, RR#1
Bowden, AB   T0M 0K0
(403) 556-3635
Email:
k9trainer@dogwhisperer.ca

Guardian Angel Shepherds


Warren Mundell
Box 6, Site 13, RR#1
Innisfail, AB  T4G 1T6
(403) 746-2965
Email:
wjmund@gmail.com

Raven Ice Reg'd


Jean Price
Box 6615
Drayton Valley, AB  T7A 1S1
(780) 542-6318
Email:
info@howlingoodtimes.com

Wolvesden


Glenn and Terra Ridland
Box 241
Chipman, AB  T0B 0W0
(780) 363-2091
Email:
topdogs@silvermistkennels.com

SilverMist Reg'd


Angie Taylor
Box 1184 
Lamont, AB    T0B 2R0
(780) 690-4336
Email:
dangiek-9services@live.ca

Dangie K-9 Services Inc.


Jan Zerebeski
Site9 Comp 6 RR#1
Sylvan Lake, AB  T4S 1X6
(403) 746-2875
Email:
info@janzhaus.com

German Shepherd
Janzhaus


Bill and Sandra Weselak
Box 1058
Valleyview, AB   T0H 3N0
(780) 524-3030
Email: 
info@gypsysden.ca


Gypsy's Den Reg'd

 

Saskatchewan 

Kennel/Website

Aaron and Shanda Bradford
Box 206
Dalmeny, SK  S0K 1E0
(306) 280-0655
Email:
info@arcticnightsworkingdogs.com

Arctic Nights Working Dogs


Maria Fabrik
Box 819
Kamsack, SK  S0A 1S0
(306) 542-2443
Email:
whispawillow@gmail.com

Whispawillow


Joyce Howarth
Box 115
Ernfold, SK  S0H 1K0
(306) 629-3305
Email:
rosebuds@sweetshepherds.com

Sweetshepherds


Wanda Hanson
Box 163
Strasbourg, SK   S0G 4V0
(306) 725-3647
Email:
hanson.w@sasktel.net

LastMountain


Shelley
Vanscoy, SK  S0L 3J0
(306) 668-6240
Email:
aspenacresgsd@hotmail.com

Aspen Acres


Terry Ulvild
General Delivery
MacDowall, SK   S0K 2S0
(306) 922-4787
Email: 
ulvildengsd@xplornet.ca

German Shepherds
Ulvilden German Shepherd

 

Manitoba 

Kennel/Website

Brenda and Terry Holliday
35025 Mission Road
Box 64
Anola, MB 
(204) 866-4917
Email:
holterbren@gmail.com

*Stud Service Available

Holterbren Reg'd Kennel


Kristin Johnston
PO Box 443 
Portage la Prairie, MB   R1N 3B7
(204) 856-0985  
Email:
prairielands@mts.net  

Prairieside German Shepherds

Sharon Otto
Box 22, GRP 1, RR#2 
Dugald, MB   
(204) 471-8953   
Email:
sgotto13@live.com

German Shepherd Dog
Sotto German Shepherds


Heather Page
PO Box 784
Portage la Prairie, MB  R1N 3C3
Email:
page@fleetrun.com

Fleetrun


Deborah Ross
Box 21453
Steinbach, MB  R5G 1S7
(204) 346-0933
Email:
rdross@mts.net

Penhall


Karen Shiels- Anonychuk
PO Box 41
Garson, MB   R0E 0R0
(204) 755-2387 or
(204) 266-0142
Email:
canisphere@wpgworkshop.com

German Shepherd Dog
Canisphere Kennels Reg'd

 

Ontario 

Kennel/Website

Linda Abernot
580 Old Goulais Bay Road
Sault Ste. Marie, ON P6A 5K8
(705) 759-6366
Email:
winningways@shaw.ca

Winning Ways


Donna Barclay
Campbellville, ON  L0P 1B0
(905) 854-6228
Email:
donna.barclay@hotmail.com

EMERITUS


Michelle Bellino-Rovella & Rob 
Mulmur, ON     L0N 1M0 
(519) 940-5049   
Email:
info@carissimakennels.com 

Carissima Kennels


Sandra and Donald Bingley
4224 Hwy #3E
Sherkston, ON   L0S 1R0   
(905) 894-4945
Email:
sandon@SandonKennels.com

Sandon Reg'd


Jackie Brooks
RR#2
Ancaster, ON  L9G 3L1
(905) 304-4284
Email:
jackie@goodheart.ca

GoodHeart


Fay Brugger
RR#7
Thunder Bay, ON  P7C 5V5
(807) 964-1801
Email:
coppercliffdogs@gmail.com

Copper Cliff Reg'd


Charmaine Collins
1854 Trinity Road
Ancaster, ON   L9G 3L1
(905) 648-6955
Email:
glensaxon@rogers.com

A. Glen Saxon Kennels


Philip Eramo
Milton, ON    L7P 0H2
(416) 887-7778 
Email: 
pgsd@cogeco.ca

Dei Precision German Shepherds


Mark and Sandra Gaetz
Arnprior, ON  K7S 3G9
(613) 794-3529
Email:
gableridge@sympatico.ca

Gableridge


Paul Giguere
957 Ridge Road
Welland, ON  L3B 5N7
(905) 735-1874
Email:
paul@iaw.on.ca

Ridgemount


Bobbi Heaton
1566 County Road 10
Perth, ON    K7H 3C3
(613) 267-4337
Email: 
countingsheep@ripnet.com

Von Reynolds Kennel


Shelley and Julie Hodgins
6129 Drummond Road
Niagara Falls, ON  L2G 4M3
(905) 353-8311
Email:
maplelodge100@hotmail.com

Maplelodge Kennel


Dean James
Kingston, Ontario
1-888-582-2199
Email: 
info@shiphrashepherds.com 

Shiphra German Shepherds


Trina Johnston
Lot 2 Boom Lake
Timmins, ON   P4N 7C9
(705) 268-9017
Email:
boomlakesgsd@hotmail.com

Boom Lake's German Shepherds


Kordula Juhnke
69406 Shipka Line
Dashwood, ON   N0M 1N0
(519) 294-6149
Email: 
rkjuhnke@gmail.com

German Sheperd Dog
Haus Roko


Linda Labonte
239 Commissioners Road West
London, ON   N6J 1Y2
(519) 318- 9789
Email:
linda@labontecanine.com

Labonte Canine Services


Robin Laurier
362 McBride Road
Renfrew, ON  K7V 3Z6
(613) 432-8189
Email: 
fuhrerkennels@sympatico.ca   

Fuhrer Kennels Reg'd


Shelley MacKenzie-Coates & Carl Coates
275 Boundary Road
Roslin, ON   K0K 2Y0
(613) 477- 2234
Email:
roslinridge@sympatico.ca

Roslinridge Reg'd


Frank Mazzulla
58 Millview Crescent
Etobicoke, ON  M9W 3K5
(416) 742-5134
Email:
ilxduce@hotmail.com

Millview


Mike McConnery
Mike the Dogman
(519) 265-6708
Email:
mikemcconnery@mikethedogman.ca

Mike the Dogman


Angie Nadon
Bailieboro, ON K0L 1B0
(705) 939-1999
Email:
anfarra@sympatico.ca

Anfarra


Marianna Reimann
S310, Durham 13, RR#1
Sunderland, ON  L0C 1H0
(705) 357-1857
Email:
hilleyes@hotmail.com

Hilleyes Reg'd


Antonella Saccoccio
29 Victoria Crescent
Ontario  L7K 0A1
(416)949-9933
Email:
contactus@wofenhaus.com

German Shepherd Dog
Wofenhaus


Ennio and Linda Silvestri
10110 John Road
Murillo, ON  P0T 2G0
(807) 935-2183
Email:
questbest_@hotmail.com

Questbest


Lesley Sorrento
254 Queensville Side Road
Riverdrive Park, ON   L9N 1A7
(905) 836-5596
Email:
fsorrento@rogers.com

Sorrento


Colleen and Tony Vandendool
Caledonia, ON    N3W 2C2
(905) 765-6071
Email: 
timbrlne@yahoo.com

Timberline

 

Quebec 

Kennel/Website

Michelle Giguère
933, 10ième Rang
St-Valérien de Milton, QC  J0H 2B0
(450) 549-2583
Email:
info@angesgardiens.ca

Les Anges Gardiens


France Jacob
476 Petit-Capsa
Saint-Augustin-De-Desmaures, QC  G3A 1W8
(418) 929-3087
Email:
francejacob@hotmail.com

Beralleo

 


Alfred Stein
1110 Hodge
St. Laurent, QC  H4N 2B7
(514) 748-8328
Email:
felsenburg@videotron.ca

Felsenburg


Christina Kaiser
73 Plains Creek Road
Allumettes Island, QC   J0X 1M0
(819) 689-5664
Email:
lkaiser@sympatico.ca

Wendelinkennel

 

New Brunswick 

Kennel/Website

Gary Flieger
96 Kingsley Road
Estey's Bridge, NB  E3A 6E3
(506) 457-1697
Email:
gary@cedarcroftfarm.com

Cedar Croft Reg'd

 

Prince Edward Island 

Kennel/Website

Karen J. MacPhee
Coleman RR#3
Coleman, PE   C0B 1H0
(902) 859-2468 or (902) 859-2469
Email:
Diamondsun@pei.aibn.com

Diamondsun Kennel Reg'd


Fay Oatway
RR#10 Winsloe
Milton, PE  C1E 1Z4
Email:
annadeans@islandtelecom.com

Annadeans Kennels

 

Nova Scotia 

Kennel/Website

Fred and Marie Cook
RR#1, Pictou County
Thorburn, NS   B0K 1W0
(902) 922-2699
Email:
fjc.mec@ns.sympatico.ca

Maries Reg'd


Ann-Marie Leadbeater
3965 Highway 358, PO Box 555
Canning, NS   B0P 1H0
(902) 582-3637
Email:
a.l@grunfeldshepherds.com

Grunfeld Perm Reg'd

 

Yukon Territory 

Kennel/Website

Randy Mattson
32 Maple Street
Whitehorse, YT   Y1A 4A8
(867) 668-6118
Email:
randy@extremedogsport.com

Yukon Hausberg Kennel

 

 
   

Top of Page