Dog Breed List
Choosing a Breed
Where in Canada?
Go Home

CanaDogs.comCanaDogs logo
"May I always be the kind of person my dog thinks I am"

Shop

Golden Retriever


Dogs are our link to paradise. 
They don't know evil or jealousy or discontent. To sit with a dog on a hillside on a glorious afternoon is to be back in Eden, where doing nothing was not boring - 
it was peace.
- Milan Kundera


Golden Retriever puppy

Quinleighblu 3 Rivers Steeler RAE CD 
"Steeler"

Golden Retriever adult
Quinleighblu 3 Rivers Steeler RAE CD 
"Steeler"

The Golden Retriever was developed in the mid-1800s by a Scotsman, Lord Tweedmouth who was in search of the ultimate hunting dog. They were first accepted for registration by The Kennel Club of England in 1903 as Flat-Coats, Golden. 

The Golden Retriever is a result of selective breeding of retrievers, spaniels, setters, and the bloodhound.  

Originally kept and bred as gundogs, today Golden Retrievers continue to work in the field and as guide dogs and service dogs to physically challenged people. Their patience makes them ideal for assistance dogs, and their gentleness makes them a favourite as a therapy dog. Their strong bond with people and extreme willingness to learn make Golden Retrievers the most successful guide dogs of any other breed. 

Considered the most beautiful of the retriever family, the Golden Retriever is known for his gentle expression, soft eyes, and flowing coat. He stands up to 24 inches at the shoulder, and has a dense, water-repellent coat with feathering on the legs and tail. The coat comes in all shades of gold from nearly white to very dark caramel and may be flat or wavy.

The Golden Retriever is affectionate, loyal, and good natured. As a happy, outgoing, and eager puppy, he can be quite a handful! A superb family pet, the Golden is alert, responsive, playful, and self-confident. He is gentle with children and has a high tolerance for their endless attentions. He generally gets along very well with all people and other animals. Accordingly, he does not make a good watchdog as he will generally bark only if startled.

As a devoted family member, and one who thrives on attention, the Golden Retriever is not happy when left alone for long periods. He requires a lot of attention and love from his owners.

This dog is extremely active and has a high energy level. He needs lots of exercise and is particularly fond of swimming. A Golden Retriever will retrieve sticks from the water all day long! A highly intelligent animal, he does very well in obedience trials, and will always enjoy the action in agility classes.

 

 
Resources

Buying a Puppy
Dog Titles 

Disaster Proofing

 
Rescue
Crusader Resources
255150 Towers Trail
Cochrane, AB  T4C 2A2
(403) 932-6570
Email: crusaderresources@yahoo.com
Golden Retriever Adoption Service, Canadian
(416) 657-2445
Golden Retriever Club of Alberta Rescue
Email: rescue@grcab.com
 

 

 

 

List Me! Button

 
Maple Leaf

  CanaDogs.com Breeders

Maple Leaf

CKC Golden Retriever Breed Standard


Photos displayed above courtesy of:
Doug and Helen Lackey, Quinleighblu
Ontario




 

British Columbia 

Kennel/Website

Barbara Loree
Black Creek, BC  V9J 1A8
(250) 703-3242
Email:
bdloree@telus.net

Rio Ranch


Allyson Fennell
23058 Old Yale Road
Langley, BC  V2Z 2V3
(604) 533-8741
Email:
allyson@uniserve.com

Riverdance


Alberta 

Kennel/Website

Barbara Loree
Calgary, AB  
(403) 992-1918
Email:
bdloree@telus.net

Rio Ranch


Susan Whipps
16352 119th Street
Edmonton, AB  T5X 4T5
(780) 457-7490
Email:
pwhipps@shaw.ca

Taffy Goldens



Saskatchewan 

Kennel/Website

Carol Aitken
Regina, SK    S4R 8A8
(306) 949-6405
Email: 
carolot@myaccess.ca

Carolot


Debbie Gareau
Box 154, RR#6
Saskatoon, SK   S7K 3J9
(306) 477-2672
Email:
devanor.goldens@sasktel.net

Devanor


Caroline Martens-Clappison
6703 Maplecrest Place
Regina, SK  S4X 3Z1
(306) 543-5178
Email:
carolsarahmartens@sasktel.net

Carsher Reg'd

 
Ask An Expert

 

Did you know?


The 1997 movie "Air Bud"
about a Golden Retriever
who played basketball
was such a hit it 
was followed by 
5 sequels.


 

Clubs and Organizations


Golden Retriever Club of Canada

Golden Retriever Club of BC

Golden Retriever Club of Alberta

Golden Retriever Club of Manitoba

The Golden Retriever Breeders' Association of Ontario

Golden Retriever Club of Greater Toronto

The Ottawa Valley Golden Retriever Club

The Golden Retriever Club of Quebec

Maritime Golden Retriever Club

Golden Retriever Club of Newfoundland

Mountain Valley Retriever Training Club

Regina Retriever Club

Saskatoon Retriever Club

Manitoba Gun Dog Association

Vancouver Island Retriever Club

National Retriever Club of Canada
(field trials)

Retrievers ONLINE Magazine
(field trials/hunting)

Working Retriever Central
(field trials)



Ontario 

Kennel/Website

Anne and Jeff Bendig
152 Hanna Road, RR#3
Maberly, ON  K0H 2B0
(613) 273-7832
Email:
taygold@xplornet.com

Taygold


Shelly Blom
39 June Avenue
Guelph, ON  N1H 1H5
(519) 823-1020
Email:
sterregoldens@sympatico.ca

Sterre Reg'd


Bruce K. Brown
48 Peter Street
Elmvale, ON  L0L 1P0
(705) 322-6134
Email:
goldnote@sympatico.ca

Goldnote Goldens


Patti Charbonneau
Box 32, RR#1
Deep River, ON  K0J 1P0
(613) 584-3253
Email:
kulta@sympatico.ca

Kulta


Valerie Cooper
RR#2
Arthur, ON  N0G 1A0
(519) 848-6192
1-800-660-2033
Email:
valerie@cooperslane.com

Cooperslane


Paula Diamond
PO Box 1089
Fonthill, ON  L0S 1E0
(905) 892-0826
Email:
goldies@diamondsbest.com

Diamondsbest


Dave and Sue Eby
1270 Weeby Place
Waterloo, ON  N2J 4G8
(519) 664-2668
Email:
info@moonstonekennel.com

Moonstone Kennel


Randy and Carol Ethridge
7 Yonge Mills Road, RR#3
Mallorytown, ON  K0E 1R0
(613) 923-2548
Email:
ethridge@ripnet.com

Masonridge


Vicki Ellery
2703 Triple Bay Road, RR#1
Port McNicoll, ON   L0K 1R0
(705) 534-2743
Email:
goldens@thunderstar.net

Animation Acres


Judi Ford
48 Metcalf Street, Box 312
Southampton, ON  N0H 2L0
(519) 797-3416
Email:
ramblin.goldens@sympatico.ca

Ramblin


Kelly and Jamie Forrest
405512 Beaconsfield Road
Burgessville, ON  N0J 1C0
(519) 424-3722
Email:
cornerfieldfarms@execulink.com

Cornerfield Farms


Alexandra Graham
7669 Colborne Street, RR#1
Fergus, ON  N1M 2W3
(519) 846-5533
Email:
alexgraham@kw.igs.net

GrahamGolden Reg'd


Mary Greenwood
5166 Concession Road 4, RR#1
Everett, ON    L0M 1J0
(705) 434-0242
Email: 
mjg@goldenassetkennels.ca
GoldenAsset Reg'd Kennels

Catharine and Grant Gross
RR#1
Cayuga, ON  N0A 1E0
(905) 772-2808
Email:
braefield@mountaincable.net

Braefield Reg'd


Sherri Hall
6311 12th Line, RR#4
Alliston, ON  L9R 1V4
(905) 729-4554
Email:
shall@zing-net.ca

Maplelane


Ken and Heather Heyboer
RR#1
Ridgetown, ON  N0P 2C0
(519) 674-5571
Email:
hheyboer@sympatico.ca

Breezyknoll Reg'd


Valerie Jackson
522 North Waseosa Lake Road
Huntsville, ON  P1H 2J4
(705) 789-4208
Email:
val@chartwellgoldenretrievers.ca

Chartwell Reg'd


Elaine Johnston
Bobcaygeon, ON   K0M 1L0
(705) 793-2323
Email: 
treeverwood@gmail.com

Treeverwood


Doug and Helen Lackey
50 Driftwood Place
Kitchener, ON  N2N 1W3
(519) 745-4379
Email:
goldones@sentex.net

Quinleighblu Goldens


Kim MacDonald
1897 Line 1, North RR#2
Shanty Bay, ON  L0L 2L0
(705) 727-1058
Email:
stornynights@sympatico.ca

Stormynights


Karen McKortel
RR#7
Perth, ON    K7H 3C9
(613) 264-1919
Email: 
glenbern@gmail.com

Glenbern Reg'd


Lise Marleau Nesbitt
RR#1
Callander, ON  P0H 1H0
(705) 752-1926
Email:
tibsenkennels@hotmail.com

Tibsen Kennels

 


Elizabeth O'Brien
2934 Baker Road, RR#3, 
Niagara Falls, ON  L2E 6S6
(905) 382-1817
Email:
lueo@sympatico.ca

*celebrating 40 years of breeding*

Lueo


Susan O'Reilly
RR#1
Frankville, ON  K0E 1H0
(613) 275-1260
Email:
vincera@recorder.ca

Vincera Kennels


Rob Paterson
Oshawa, ON 
(905) 259-5575
Email:
info@conquerergoldens.com

Conquerer Reg'd


Ivan Paul
c/o Wimberway Kennels and Farm
RR#4
Powassan, ON   P0H 1Z0
(705) 724-2676
Email:
sandy@wimberway.com

Wimberway Kennels


Elaine Petersen
44 Cedar Waxwing Drive
Elmira, ON  N3B 1E6
(519) 669-8256
Email:
dannebrog@sympatico.ca

Dannebrog


Mary Phillips
PO Box 755
St. Jacobs, ON   N0B 2N0
(519) 590-7768
Email: 
woof@mudlarkgold.com

MUDLARK Reg'd


James and Sandra Pink
28 Mill Street West
Hillsdale, ON  L0L 1V0
(705) 835-6231
Email:
inthepinkgoldens@mac.com

In the Pink


Pat Renshaw
Box 367
Shelburne, ON  L0N 1S0
(519) 925-9542
Email:
pat.renshaw@sympatico.ca

Riverwood Reg'd

 


Deb Rusaw
Box 351
Apsley , ON
   K0L 1A0
(705) 656-4707
Email:
deb_rusaw@nexicom.net

Longgun Goldens Reg’d


Jim and Judy Stewart
RR#3
Perth, ON   K7H 3C5
(613) 264-0203
Email:
goldens@superaje.com

Blueheron


Judith Taylor
1227 Roseville Road, RR#2
Cambridge, ON  N1R 5S3
(519) 621-4709
Email:
judy@skylonkennels.com

Skylon Kennels


Paul Turnbull
52 Marshall Crescent 
Baxter, ON   L0M 1B1
(705) 424-3352
Email: 
info@downtoearthgoldens.com    

Down To Earth Goldens


Michele Tuominen
2607 Line 2 North RR#2
Shanty Bay, ON   L0L 2L0
(705) 728-4741
Email:
blackpool@sympatico.ca

Blackpool


Edie Ward
RR #1
Glencairn, ON   L0M 1K0
(705) 733-4935
Email:
baileymistgoldens@live.com

Golden Retriever
Baileymist Goldens


Dominic Valois
550 Greenlane Road E
Hawkesbury, ON    K6A 2R2
(613) 632-6808
Email: 
dominic@norsehavengoldens.com 


Norsehaven


Quebec 

Kennel/Website

Rachelle and Michel Bertrand
615 chemin Gorman
L'Ange-Gardien, QC  J8L 0L2
(819) 986-1450
Email: 
info@siriusgoldenretrievers.com

Sirius Perm Reg'd


Gianfranco Bottaro
8762, Grève Gilmour
Lévis, QC  G6V 7P8
(418) 835-5857
Email:
milano@videotron.ca

Milano


Nathalie Piché and Sylvie Piché
2560 Rue De L'Eglise
Val-David, QC  J0T 2N0
(819) 322-7305
(450) 224-7036
Email:
springdream@live.ca

Springdream Kennels

Top of Page